reinventing what we already knew in the classroom using technology

Map without Borders

Having read the dreaded “I am going to tell you about” 5-paragraph essay until my eyes glaze over and I fall into a comatose state, I have spent years scouring the earth for engaging approaches to writing. My quest has taken me to the promising lands of writing clubs, writer’s notebooks, and writer’s workshops, Four-square, and Six Traits, mystery bags, photo prompts, guided imagery, peer review, passed around team writing, speed writing, personal journals, and Morning Pages. Some were more engaging than others, but nothing too impressive…until….blogging.

Last summer, I read Lisa Parisi’s book, Making Connections with Blogging, authentic learning for today’s classrooms. It changed my weak adjective filled life for all eternity. This is my mid-year report, and folks…it’s been amazing!

So, why is blogging so cool? Here we go!

  • An authentic audience.
  • Revising! Without begging…and sometimes even student initiated.
  • Reading of each other’s writing…ON THEIR…

View original post 283 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

